Martyrs of Indian Police

Every year many Police personnel of different States as well as CPO’s/CAPF’s lay down their lives in the line of duty. Total 35,403 Police personnel had sacrificed their lives for safeguarding the nation and providing security to the common people till 2020, since the year of Independence. In honour of these Police Martyrs who laid their life in the line of duty, 21 October is observed as Police Commemoration day every year. On this day Police martyrs are remembered and programmes are organised in their honour. A National level programme is held at National Police Memorial at Chanakyapuri in New Delhi in which the names of Martyrs of the State Police & CPO’s/CAPF’s  are being read and wreath is being laid at the Memorial by the Home Minister of India, in honour of Police Martyrs. Programmes in similar fashion is observed at all the State Police/ CAPF headquarters, as well.