View CAPFs

The Armed Police Organisations, under  Ministry of Home affairs of Government of India, known as Central Armed Police Forces (CAPFs), such as the Assam Rifles (AR), Border Security Force (BSF), Central Industrial Security Force (CISF), Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF), Indo Tibetan Border Police (ITBP), National Security Guard (NSG) and Seema Suraksha Bal (SSB). They function under the administrative control of Ministry of Home Affairs, New Delhi. Though the AR functions under the administrative control of the MHA, its operational control rests with the Ministry of Defence. Of the CAPFs, the AR, BSF, ITBP and SSB are Border Guarding Forces. The NSG is a commando trained force Organisation in India and are used for special operations. The CISF provides security and protection to industrial undertakings and vital installations. The CRPF is deployed in aid of civil power in matters relating to maintenance of law and order, internal security and counterinsurgency. The CAPF’s are headed by DGP rank officers.