The Central Sculpture

Last updated on : 01/11/2018

The central piece of the National Police Memorial is the Central Sculpture whose design has been conceptualized by National Gallery of Modern Arts. The Sculpture is a vertical 30 feet tall monolithic granite pillar that is conceived as primordial yet permanent signal of a sacred space, for an officer who is always in the line of duty. The single block of granite both polished and unpolished presents the ebony black granite as a testimony of tolerance and karmic symbolism. The memorial takes cues from stone building heritage and is modelled on a cenotaph like tall upright stones erected in the ancient times. The human response is to bow in front of a monumental memorial.

Granite as a stone is in itself a witness to human civilization – it stands as a sentinel amidst the many catastrophes of cultures and absorbs events and experiences. The ebony shade of black is one that is the essence of all that is of the earth and beyond. The language of defence and protection is as old as history and therein resides the story of dharma in the life of a Policeman.

For the one who serves is a karma yogi, selfless action is his karma and it is the fruit of this selfless action that leads him to the eternal river of life. Granite characteristics include strength and durability. The life of a Policeman mirrors these qualities. Granite’s longevity in the face of all kinds of catastrophes is a metaphor for the service that an officer gives to society.

The representation of a flame that accompanies the elements exemplifies the living story of service. It symbolizes ceaseless meditative union with the sprit. Man is mortal but his actions of bravery and courage in the hour of service are immortal. The flame is the insignia of life that lives in the common memory of the community.

  • BSF
  • Chhattisgarh Police
  • A&N Islands
  • AP Police
  • RPF
  • CRPF
  • BCAS
  • Delhi Police
  • Special Protection Group (SPG)
  • UP Police
  • Tamil Nadu Police
  • Sashastra Seema Bal (SSB)
  • Sikkim Police
  • Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel National Police Academy
  • Punjab Police
  • Puducherry Police
  • Odisha Police
  • National Security Guard (NSG)
  • National Investigation Agency
  • National Human Rights Commission (NHRC)
  • North Eastern Police Academy
  • National Disaster Response Force (NDRF)
  • Narcotics Control Bureau
  • Nagaland Police
  • Madhya Pradesh Police
  • Mizoram Police
  • Meghalaya Police
  • Manipur Police
  • Lakshadweep Police
  • Kerala Police
  • Karnataka Police
  • Jharkhand Police
  • Jammu & Kashmir Police
  • ITBP
  • Himachal Pradesh Police
  • Haryana Police
  • Goa Police
  • Maharashtra Police
  • CISF
  • West Bengal Police
  • Uttarakhand Police
  • Tripura Police
  • Telangana Police
  • Rajasthan Police
  • Arunachal Police
  • Assam Police
  • Gujarat Police
  • Chandigarh Police